Where exactly does the petrol go?

Traction Owner’s Club Forums Forum Archive Traction Owners Club Forum Help Wanted Where exactly does the petrol go?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

When you have to pump up the carb after the car sits for a while, where did the fuel go? I’ve been pondering this for 30 years! Evaporation? Out the intake manifold drain? Back to the fuel pump and/or tank? Where? Sometimes the float needle valve will stick on both of my cars when they’re cold, petrol won’t move, the lever does nothing, then a tap on the carb with a rubber hammer and the carb fills instantly. I don’t consider that a problem as such but where does it go when it goes? ❓

Anonymous

As the carburettor sits at the highest point on the engine the consensus is that it slowly drains back to the tank.

I have an inline non return valve between the carb and the fuel filter after the fuel pump, which does help, but still isn’t a 100% cure as the fuel still disappears eventually 🙂

Anonymous

But, the inlet to the carb is at the highest point on the carb. Anti-gravity petrol? It just doesn’t seem possible. It couldn’t maybe slowly drain into the cylinders, could it? But if it did that, it should drain out the line on the intake but it doesn’t do that since there’s no pool of petrol on the ground and if they did do that, wouldn’t Tractions be known for it? if I drive mine every day they start instantly with no pumping of the lever, more than a day of sitting, then I have to. The fuel can’t possibly evaporate that fast. I’ve been home recently recovering from surgery so I have time to ponder such an imponderable.

Anonymous

I am surprised to learn that anti-gravity petrol has not yet reached the colonies!

So what else is there? My first thought was possible syphonic draining of the carb fuel bowl – but I now realise that is not possible on two counts –