"Vinny" – Engine Out

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

I thought I would have a go at putting together a step by step photo guide on pulling an engine out of a Traction. Mine being a 1955 11B with a Perfo engine. I recently restored the engine as part of my “Barn Find” project which you can find in My Projects in this forum. So I “should” have no rusty or seized bolts and it “should” be a relatively straight forward task, although this is my first time taking out the lump since the car was built. Last time I took it out, it was piece by piece, so please bare with me. I am sure there are better or easier ways but for me this was the most straight forward.

So firstly I needed to clear the garage for space as I have 2 other unmovable projects blocking the main part of the floor. My son’s Mini and my Renault 4CV. So I needed to be able to take the engine out of the Traction, move it to the side and then role the Traction into the garage.
      I have my tools ready and the engine lift ready as when the car is in there will be no room to move. [Remember this, specially if you have a single garage, the engine takes a lot of space to take out and manhandle around]

[attachment=1:1lniiwnt]P1070645.jpg[/attachment:1lniiwnt]

“Vinny” is driven in giving me enough space at the front to manhandle the engine lift around the front of the car. It is still very heavy and as my concrete is not too even, there is a chance of “Engine Swing”.

[attachment=0:1lniiwnt]P1070647.jpg[/attachment:1lniiwnt]

Anonymous

Even though my wings are not perfect (body work done, just not painted) I still want to protect them so I used a couple of IKEA single mattress pads. They seemed to work quite well ๐Ÿ˜€ Quick slit to go over the light pods and they sit on the wings perfectly. Also a good place for tools as now they don’t slip off.

[attachment=2:79mtrfpf]P1070648.jpg[/attachment:79mtrfpf]